T-town Race Update

Ok, it feels like I’ve been super busy since I’ve been in T-town and I haven’t been much of a computer junkie 😉 I’ve raced two UCI races thus far and have one more tomorrow (Friday). Last friday was the Keirin and a few bunch races and yesterday was a full sprint tournament. Hartwell has done a pretty good job at trying to bring in international riders for these races, but it’s still lacking in the women’s field. Christin Muche is here and she is a World Class rider, so I was still excited to race. Although, without 6 world class women, the dynamics in the keirin aren’t the same. I drew 4 th position with Muche getting right on my wheel. When the motor pulled, the pace didn’t go as high as normal, so I went over the top with 500m to go. I controlled the speed and gave it a good run to the line, but Muche got me on the line! Then to the Sprints a few days later…………the first day we got in the 200m and the evening brought a huge rain storm! It was such a relief though, because it was soooooooo hot here and our housing doesn’t have AC! The next day was fantastic weather and I was feeling excited to race. In the first ride against Muche, I took the lead from Muche in turn 3 a lap to go and controlled the speed, keeping Much in sight and not committing to full speed. She took a run out of 2, but I held her on the hip and went for the line in a photo finish! And won! Ride 2 was almost identical, but she got me at the line. Then to a final ride where I decided to try a new trick 😉 I drew 1st position, but forced Muche to the front with a track stand. I pushed from behind going into turn 2, Muche left the door open and I dove for the lane. We went down the back straight side by side and before the turn, she left no room for me underneath and closed the lane. I would have crashed if I had went for it on the inside and since this is a small race in comparison to the season, I backed out. The officials talked about it for 10minutes and decided that they would keep it as so because the corner offical said my move was too fast that he didn’t see it! Ok, never heard that before, but that is how it goes sometimes. Too bad the officials weren’t awake! At the end of the day, it was great racing and I had a blast ;P

Here’s a pic of my teammates and me at a yummie dinner……………

p6160008.jpg

3 Responses to “T-town Race Update”

  1. Jen Triplett Says:

    Hey Jennie,
    Looks like you’re having fun in T-Town. Congrats on the new team and aligning yourself with people who have similar goals and drive. Will your team be joining us at Marymoor at the end of July? Hope to see you there! Jen

  2. Sneaky Says:

    That official who did not see the move is an ass! These USCF officials are horrible I’ve come to realize in comparison to UCI.

    Hope all is well and thank you for your time, participation, and great character on and off the track. Good luck in COS…be safe.

    SP

  3. sue Says:

    Hi Jen, I finally was able to get you blog up. That sprint sounds not only exciting but a though you had great form. Also the picture is great, I just wish i had a larger and more clear copy. love dad

Leave a Reply

